2014 Annual Report

The Carleton Theoretical Particle Physics Group had a very successful 2014. This report summarizes the highlights.

Group members:

  • Faculty members:
    • Bruce Campbell (Professor)
    • Stephen Godfrey (Professor)
    • Thomas Gregoire (Associate Professor)
    • Pat Kalyniak (Professor)
    • Heather Logan (Assocaite Professor)
  • Postdoctoral Research Associates:
    • Dr. Kunal Kumar
    • Dr. Brooks Thomas (now at Reed College, Oregon)
    • Dr. Vikram Rentala (now at Jawaharlal Nehru Univeristy, New Delhi)
    • Dr. Andrea Peterson
  • PhD students:
    • Hugues Beauchesne [Gregoire]
    • Kevin Earl [Gregoire]
    • Katy Hartling [Logan]
    • Terry Pilkington [Logan]
  • MSc students:
    • Gage Bonner (BSc Queens) [Logan]
    • Robyn Campbell (BSc Mt Allison) [Godfrey]
    • Alex Poulin (BSc Carleton) [Godfrey]
    • Will Scott (BSc UPEI) [Logan]
  • Summer students:
    • Mary-Jean Harris [Logan]
    • Alex Poulin [Gregoire]
    • Rouzbeh Modarresi Yazdi [Godfrey]

Noteworthy events:

  • Prof. Pat Kalyniak announced her retirement effective at the end of 2014.  A search for a new faculty member in theoretical particle physics has been initiated.
  • New postdoctoral research associates Dr. Vikram Rentala and Dr. Andrea Peterson arrived at the beginning of Fall.
  • Carleton Theory postdoc Dr. Brooks Thomas left our group in August to take up a term lecturer position at Reed College in Portland, Oregon. Theory postdoc Dr. Vikram Rentala also left us in November to take up a term faculty position at Jawaharlal Nehru University in New Delhi, India.
  • PhD students Katy Hartling and Terry Pilkington attended the Theoretical Advanced Study Institute (TASI) 2014 in Boulder, Colorado in June. The theme of this year's institute was "Journeys Through the Precision Frontier: Amplitudes for Colliders." PhD student Hugues Beauchesne attended the Cargese International School for Theoretical Particle Physics in Cargese, Corsica in July. The theme of this year's school was "MultiTeV Probes of the Standard Model and beyond with the LHC".
  • MSc student Kevin Earl fast-tracked into the PhD program effective September 2014.
  • Four new MSc students joined the theory group in September: Gage Bonner, Robyn Campbell, Alex Poulin, and Will Scott.

Journal articles and preprints:

Working group reports, lecture notes, etc:

  • R. Brock, et al, "Planning the Future of U.S. Particle Physics (Snowmass 2013): Chapter 3: Energy Frontier," arXiv:1401.6081 [hep-ex].
  • H.E. Logan, "TASI 2013 lectures on Higgs physics within and beyond the Standard Model," arXiv:1406.1786 [hep-ph].