2016 COMP Gold Medal awarded to G. Peter Raaphorst

Wednesday, August 24, 2016


Congratulations to G. Peter Raaphorst, Adjunct Research Professor of Physics, on being awarded the Gold Medal of the Canadian Organization of Medical Physicists (COMP) at their annual conference this summer in St John's Nfld.

Peter Raaphorst was one of the founders of the Ottawa Medical Physics Institute (OMPI, originally called the Medical Physics Organized Research Unit) and served as Director from its inception in 1989 through 1993.  A former career scientist at AECL Whiteshell (Manitoba), Peter was the Head of Medical Physics at TOHCC 1985 - 2005 and built the department from a small group of approximately three clinical physicists into a major department with both a large clinical service and active research. Peter's own research foci were in radiation biology and hyperthermia.  He was an architect of the Carleton medical physics program, taught Phys 5207 Radiobiology for many years, and supervised many graduate students some of whom are now established scientists themselves and whom have supervised a further generation of students!  Peter was awarded the Career Achievement Award of the Ottawa Life Sciences Council shortly after his retirement from TOHCC in 2005. These days Peter devotes his medical physics energies to consulting work in mammography and bone mineral densitometry.  And he continues to be a great craftsman in wordworking.

Congratulations Peter!